GST Bill to be ratified by 11 more states: GST

Deepak Gupta | Aug 22, 2016 | Views 2275561

GST Bill to be ratified by 11 more states: GST

The 122nd constitution amendment bill to roll out GST has been sent to the states for their ratification after it received Parliament’s nod.
At least 11 states, including those governed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and opposition political parties, are in the process of ratifying the legislation. While, 3 states have already ratified the bill Assam, Bihar and Jharkhand.
GST is intended to dismantle interstate barriers in trade in goods and services and create a common market of 1.25 billion people.
The states that have announced their intent to ratify the legislation include the
BJP or Alliance States

  • Goa
  • Haryana
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Gujarat
  • Maharashtra
  • Andhra Pradesh


  • West Bengal
  • Karnataka
  • Telangana
  • Delhi

Once the constitution amendment bill is enacted, the government will set up a GST council that will decide on crucial issues such as tax rates and finalize three GST laws. The government is aiming to table the central GST law and the integrated GST law in the winter session of Parliament. The state GST law will go to all the states for passage.
GST, GST News, GST Updates,

StudyCafe Membership

Join StudyCafe Membership. For More details about Membership Click Join Membership Button
Join Membership

In case of any Doubt regarding Membership you can mail us at [email protected]

Join Studycafe's WhatsApp Group or Telegram Channel for Latest Updates on Government Job, Sarkari Naukri, Private Jobs, Income Tax, GST, Companies Act, Judgements and CA, CS, ICWA, and MUCH MORE!"